Good Bye CrunchBang

I haven’t been online blog wise for a bit with work and school, I come back today and what do I see? A farewell not from my favorite Linux Flavor, CrunchBang (#!), a sad day in Linux History. I have been using Linux since Debian 4.0 and Ubuntu 6.06 and have not found a flavor as clean, robust and stable as #!. It was the last OS I’ve been using and now I have to venture out to find a new one.

Here’s excerpts from the goodbye message:

When I first started working on CrunchBang, the Linux landscape was a very different place and whilst I honestly didn’t know if there was any value to it, I knew there was a place for CrunchBang on my own systems. As it turned out, there seemed to be quite a demand for it on other people’s systems too. I’m not entirely sure why this was the case, but if I had to guess, I would say that it was probably due to the lack of competition/alternatives of the same ilk. If I’m remembering correctly, at the time, there was no LXDE tasksel in Debian and certainly no Lubuntu around. CrunchBang filled a gap and that was nifty.

So, what’s changed?

For anyone who has been involved with Linux for the past ten years or so, I’m sure they’ll agree that things have moved on. Whilst some things have stayed exactly the same, others have changed beyond all recognition. It’s called progress, and for the most part, progress is a good thing. That said, when progress happens, some things get left behind, and for me, CrunchBang is something that I need to leave behind. I’m leaving it behind because I honestly believe that it no longer holds any value, and whilst I could hold on to it for sentimental reasons, I don’t believe that would be in the best interest of its users, who would benefit from using vanilla Debian.

As too many have been saying in their thank you – farewell notes, I too want to tip my hat off to Philip Newborough for putting together this awesome flavor for us and for the work he put into it over the years. Too many developers go by as unsung heroes until they decide to stop and then the fanfare pours out. Sadly I started my journey with CrunchBang a bit on the really later side (late 2014 to be precise) tho I did find a base config for Conky from them; but I never got around to providing assistance and I feel guilty for it.

I will keep searching for a suitable replacement again and will let you know if I find anything interesting… Fedora Mate has been my second choice but it’s not as sleek and sexy as #! is/was…

As for the statement made by Philip:

I don’t believe that would be in the best interest of its users, who would benefit from using vanilla Debian

I’d like to point out that myself and a vast amount of Linux users started with either a Debian or Ubuntu base and for the same reasons he created #!, we have been migrating away from the vanilla builds of these flavors. Ubuntu because of their decision to initially move to Gnome3 and then to Unity combined with their privacy issues and all and most other Distros moving to Gnome3 more and more people are finding sleek flavors like #! a choice among choices. True, we can always remove the default desktop crud and give it a face lift; but which new comer to Linux has time and experience to do all that and risk breaking their system? People just want a great out of the box experience.

Hopefully Bunsen Labs Linux comes along with an ISO soon so others can start to install to their machine. I’ll be testing with their scripts shorty and give a writeup on what I experience. Their work is hosted on GitHub here

4 thoughts on “Good Bye CrunchBang”

  1. After five years of using Linux distros as my “daily driver” I have not nor do I foresee being interested in customizing a desktop environment from a vanilla Debian or other base. Why the hell would I want to research screen savers, network applications, etc? Sure, I have certain DE elements that I prefer and will swap out, but I like most computer users don’t care to learn to do everything when we just want to get our work and play done. Debian snobs and others who think we should install Debian build our CrunchBang-inspired environment are completely out of touch with reality. It’s a stupid suggestion.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment Andy. While I respect your choice to not learn everything and just use what’s out there; I have to say that this is the beauty of Linux, it allows one to create something personal and share it with others. While I too do not want to learn everything or design my own distro, I appreciate the time that someone does put into building one and especially with Crunch Bang where it was a sleek streamlined system right out of the box that attracted myself and countless others that used it.

      Like

Share your thoughts

